Vegan substitute for gelatin, the agar-agar But, after all, what is this substance so beloved by so many?
Properties and origin of consumption
Also known only as agar or agarose, the substance is extracted from red seaweed. It is estimated that the beginning of its consumption dates back to 1650, in Japan. Originally, it was called kanten .
Agar-agar is a thickener, i.e. it is used to increase the viscosity of liquids. When boiled with water, vegan gelatine is formed. The substance is insoluble in cold water. Rich in nutrients, it is extremely beneficial for health.
Benefits of Agar-Agar
Detox action and weight loss
Acts as detox It improves intestinal function and, consequently, helps in weight control. However, it is worth mentioning that agar-agar alone does not promote weight loss, but it can be a great ally for those who have this goal. Agar triples in volume when ingested, thus providing a feeling of satiety.
And there's more: it also helps control blood sugar and cholesterol levels.
Keeps skin healthy and beautiful
It promotes skin health because it is rich in collagen, and is also rich in vitamin A, which is necessary to maintain the integrity and function of the skin cells and mucous membranes. In addition, the antioxidant action of the vitamin helps prevent skin diseases.
Just 25g of agar (approximately 85 calories) contains 33% of the daily amount of iron a human needs, helping to prevent deficiency of this mineral in the blood.
Read also: Vegan and vegetarian: What's the difference?
How to consume Agar
Agar-agar is usually consumed as a gelatine, but those who think this is the only way are mistaken, and because it does not melt at room temperatures, it can be consumed as a tablet.
It is very easy to prepare and, as in its gelatinous form, can be made at home. Just take juice of any flavor, add the agar-agar, heat for about 2 minutes, and refrigerate.
The best part: it only takes about 20 minutes for the gelatin to become ready (solidified) once the substance is in contact with the boiling liquid.
As a rule, there are no contraindications as far as ingestion is concerned, but because it is highly fibrous, it is recommended that the intake of water should not be neglected. But it is important to stay hydrated, so that the fiber does not end up having a reverse effect and causing constipation.
Fortunately, agarose has low allergenic potential, meaning that it is unlikely to cause an allergy in anyone. However, when introducing it to your diet, it is always advisable to consult a nutritionist first.
Is it worth abandoning conventional gelatine and using agar-agar?
Yes, agar-agar is 100% vegetable and natural in origin. Unlike conventional gelatine, which is of animal origin, agar has no coloring, preservatives, or sugar.See_also: Perverse Narcissist: What it is and how to recognize it
Many people believe that gelatine is useful for strengthening skin, nails, and hair, thanks to the collagen present in its formula.
Experts turn up their noses at ordinary gelatine because it contains too much sugar, coloring and flavoring, and other artificial ingredients that can trigger allergies and stomach irritations, among other problems.See_also: Does orange juice with beet lose weight?
Read more: Is Gelatin healthy? Experts clarify